Committees of the DZHK

Board of Directors

The DZHK is headed by a three-member Board of Directors. The Chairman of the Board is Prof. Dr. Thomas Eschenhagen (University Hospital Hamburg-Eppendorf). The other Board members are Prof. Dr. Gerd Hasenfuß (University Medical Center Göttingen) and Prof. Dr. Thomas Sommer (Max Delbrück Center for Molecular Medicine in the Helmholtz Association).

Prof. Thomas Eschenhagen
Chairman of the Board

Prof. Dr. Gerd Hasenfuss

Prof. Dr. Thomas Sommer

General Assembly

The DZHK is an association whose statutes grant the partner sites a high level of autonomy and participation in the General Assembly (one vote per partner site). The General Assembly comprises representatives of the DZHK-member institutions.

The Genreal Assembly meets twice a year in Berlin. It is the highest organ of the association and decides upon all strategic matters. In return, all DZHK-member institutions are committed to actively participate in the committees, to comply with basic rules of their partner site and to implement the overall strategy.

The Research Coordinating Committee (RCC)

The Research Coordinating Committee (RCC) is responsible for the scientific strategy of the DZHK. It develops ideas, addresses strategy-relevant issues and prepares all matters for the General Assembly. The RCC meets monthly and comprises the Board of Directors, the partner site speakers, representatives from each partner institution and a representative of the Young-DZHK. Several permanent guests represent important DZHK-activities such as the Central Data Management.

Scientific Advisory Board

Thomas Voit (chairperson) Biomedical Research Centre, UCL Institute of Child Health, Great Ormond Street Hospital London, UK
Elizabeth McNally (vice-chairperson) Northwestern University Chicago, USA
John Cleland Imperial College London London, UK
Alan Daugherty University of Kentucky Lexington, USA
Garret A. FitzGerald Institute for Translational Medicine and Therapeutics Philadelphia, USA
Alexandra J. Lansky Yale School of Medicine New Haven, USA
Timothy A. McKinsey University of Colorado Denver Aurora, USA
Frank Misselwitz Bayer HealthCare Pharmaceuticals Wuppertal, Germany
Vasan Ramachandran Boston University School of Medicine Boston, USA
Frans Van de Werf Katholieke Universität Leuven Leuven, Belgien
Wiek van Gilst University Medical Center Groningen Groningen, Netherlands
Bianca Wittig AbbVie Deutschland GmbH Wiesbaden, Germany

Commission of Donors (KdZG)

BMBF and the ten German states where partner site headquarters are located.

  • Baden-Wuerttemberg
  • Bavaria
  • Berlin
  • Brandenburg
  • Hamburg
  • Hesse
  • Mecklenburg-Hither Pomerania
  • Lower Saxony
  • Rhineland-Palatinate
  • Schleswig-Holstein

In strategic as well as essential financial, organisational and personnel questions, the Board of Directors and the General Assembly of Members are required to obtain the approval of the Commission of Donors.