DZHK Professorships


Annett Grützmacher
Coordinator Scientific Exchange
phone: +49 30 3465 52906

DZHK professors at the DZHK retreat September 2019 in Potsdam.

With the establishment of DZHK Professorships, the DZHK creates an opportunity to recruit excellent researchers for the long term and at the same time, to build a future leadership generation. DZHK Professors are appointed by their respective institutions and are financed from DZHK partner site funds. The professors significantly contribute to the scientific profiling of their partner site. Currently, the DZHK has appointed 18 DZHK Professors that form – together with the heads of the Junior Research Groups – their own committee. The group has voting rights in the strategic decision-making body of the DZHK, the RCC. They are also the program committee for the annual DZHK Retreat.  

DZHK Professors

  • Johannes Backs | Heidelberg/Mannheim
  • Reinier Boon | Rhine-Main
  • Jeanette Erdmann | Hamburg/Kiel/Lübeck
  • Jens Fielitz | Greifswald (Co-Chair)
  • Holger Gerhardt | Berlin
  • Tommaso Gori | Rhine-Main
  • Arne Hansen | Hamburg/Kiel/Lübeck
  • Marc-Phillip Hitz | Hamburg/Kiel/Lübeck
  • Michael Joner | Munich
  • Christoph Knosalla | Berlin
  • Stefan Luther | Göttingen
  • Oliver Müller | Hamburg/Kiel/Lübeck
  • Eike Nagel | Rhine-Main (Co-Chair)
  • Oliver Söhnlein | Munich
  • Martin Uecker | Göttingen
  • Sabina Ulbricht | Greifswald
  • Stephan von Haehling | Göttingen
  • Tanja Zeller | Hamburg/Kiel/Lübeck (Chair)